The Recap that wasn’t…

2 05 2011

Sunday I ran 13.1 miles.

It’s the best race I’ve had.

It was my fastest time ever. I spent an amazing 1:58:40 alone in contemplation about my life, it’s direction and where I see myself going in the near future. There should be an amazing recap flying out from my fingers at lightening speed. I should be replaying all the awesome things I saw and did (I ran some of the race with a 71 year old man who had just completed the Boston Marathon two weeks prior). I should be reliving all the thumbs ups and pats on the back I received (seriously if you don’t wear some kind of sign proclaiming your accomplishments during your long races – you’re nuts). I should be contemplating how I ran in areas of my home town where I used to buy and use my drug of choice and here I was running through them again successful to have come out alive and in the best shape of my life. I should be telling you about when I woke up Sunday and dressed for the race I was happy to just be showing up and anything that happened would be okay with me. I should be throwing down words of emotions that pull at your heart strings when during mile 5 I passed the 2:00:00 pacer and decided right then and there I was going to pull of my first sub two hour half marathon despite all that has happened to me in the previous weeks leading up to Sunday morning. I should be telling you about seeing my friend Jessi waving her sign as I came around the last corner and in that instant I loved her more than I thought possible.

But I’m not.

I’m keeping this one for me.

There are just some events in your life that you don’t want to share. You don’t want to let it go for fear that the momentum of what happened will be lost. This is one of those events. I just want to keep this close to my heart and find the ability to be proud of what I’ve done and to find the validation of what I accomplished from inside myself. Not everything on this journey is meant to be shared here…

Just trust me when I say:

It was awesome.


Actions

Information

9 responses

2 05 2011
Foodie McBody

Like. LOVE. It’s all yours, baby.

3 05 2011
colleen

I’m so proud of you and happy for you. This is exactly what you needed. Enjoy the awesomeness of completing a sub 2 half Mary 🙂 you rock!

3 05 2011
jeninreallife

I have two things to say:

1. OMG you are AWESOMESAUCEBADASSAMAZEBALLS!!!! For so much more than a sub-2 half – but for that too!
2. OMG – 16 days til I can HUG you in real life!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

that is all!

3 05 2011
Molly Nitka

Seriously, my 10k was the same way. Just awesome. Thanks for the advice on race day ❤

3 05 2011
DareToBecome

BRAVO! and I LOVE this post.

3 05 2011
Kyle

Great Job T!

I feel so out of shape, I’m still trying to run a mile under 9 minutes!

3 05 2011
KCLAnderson (Karen)

🙂 That is all.

3 05 2011
Hanlie

Yes, some things deserve to be savored in private! You go, girl!

3 05 2011
stacy

You have been so very gracious, sharing your ups and downs with us…in person, on this blog, on facebook….I for one am glad you have done so. BUT…I understand needing to keep some things back. Its not a hiding place necessarily, but some things are so deeply pointed, they need to silent….maybe for a while…maybe forever. Its up to you….

I for one know that if you feel that it becomes unhealthy to keep those things close to you, then I trust you will share it. I trust you. I believe in where you have been, where you are, and where you will be.

I am glad to see you have given yourself permission to do retain a few things, just for you.

hugs…my dear friend.

Leave a comment